Abeja Winery 2006 chardonnay

Another early WAwineman classic, 1st posted on April 1, 2008:

John Abbott…you rock my world! John’s the winemaker at Abeja and I just reviewed his sleek cabernet (~2000 cases). Now, it’s his 800 cases of chard and…thanks to a recommendation from my wine shop purveyor, I have a new champion in the chardonnay category. I liken this to the UFC’s ultra-competitive light heavyweight class. Lots of quality competitors, so it was only time before Buty Winery gave up the belt. I even opened up my last 2005 Buty chard to confirm I have a new ‘boss’ at the top.
So here’s the prequel…pork chops (salt and pepper) on my ‘fresh list’ with onions and gravy, and rice and buttered frozen veggies. It’s Abeja time! I had only two bottles but I was dying to try it and this was the right time. Oh yeah, this chard rocked with the chops. Light straw in color and not as clear and crisp looking as the Buty but take it for a spin and it ignites in the mouth. Crisp acidity. Delicious. Rambunctious is the first adjective that came to mind. Hefty, but not buttery. This dude rocks. It definitely elevated the pork chop to where I ended up going caveman until the bone had no meat. A primitive rating of ‘ooga shaka’.
Alcohol: 13.8%. Buy it by the case on the website. Includes Celilo Vineyard fruit. Nose: moderate bouquet of flowers. Mouthfeel: light, airy. Tail trail: 6-7 seconds (explosive at 2 seconds). I pronounce this the new ‘gold standard’ of WA chardonnays. And smart labeling…listing ‘Washington State’ as it’s AVA. It’s time the rest of the world understands that WASHINGTON STATE makes kick-ass wines. Let all them pacos in Madrid and Santiago know that we are the ‘perfect climate for wine.’
Rated: 100. Value: $50. Paid: $43. This is WAwineman…uncorked, uneducated, but not uncouth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

