Anton Ville Winery 2005 chardonnay

Another early WAwineman classic, 1st posted on September 10, 2008:

23,000 Big Macs in 36 years, from a dude in WI. But, that’s not the impressive part. He’s kept every burger receipt and hasn’t cut his hair in 20 years. Being the health nut that he is, he stopped ordering fries back in the ’90’s. Gives me hope that I can down 23,000 bottles of WA wine in 36 years. And hey!, you peeps stop wagering on when I review bottle number 100 for 2008. Travel & Leisure mag interviewed the WAwineman not too long ago, so it’s quite a surprise that Seattle was named the ‘most intelligent city’. Hey, I tried my best, folks. I must say our lady guv is one of us, by having a few departments go to a 4-day workweek to save money. Not to mention that we can soon sample wines in supermarkets, during her term. I like this guv a lot. And no, that N. Korean leader doesn’t have a health problem. He heard I had a few bottles of 2005 Pere de Famille, so he flew over and we played the card game, “Burn Rate”, thinking it was about some nuclear thingy. And those federal oil royalty workers…or shall we call them greasy swingers?

Gotta admit, I had to open a bottle when I heard about the “most intelligent city” news. Just what are these upper-crust magazines thinking? Like they ran out of places (that no real person can afford) to write about? I need to start a magazine called “Rush-hour commuting and Stress”. So, the first bottle I reach for is this from that nice mom-n-pop winery/gift shop at the Woodinville North amusement park. I still remember patient Aunty Janiece trying to educate me on the vintages. Real nice, country people that I enjoy.

So, while the wine paired well with the news (a good conversation wine), I still felt compelled to eat something so I lined up some snacks and munched away. Planters salted peanuts did quite well with this chard. Pass on gnawing on Chex Mix and pretzels. Then, I got into the extra-inning Red Sox game and ended up pouring another glass. A good de-stress wine.

Nose: creamy lemon tart. Color: sauvignon blanc. Mouthfeel: featherweight with a little warmth. Tail trail: 3 seconds. Flavors: lemon citrus, jabong (grapefruit).

Yakima Valley AVA. Alcohol: 13%. Rated: 73. Value: $12. This is WAwineman…uncorked, uneducated but not uncouth.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

