Archery Summit 2006 Arcus Estate pinot noir (Oregon)

Another early WAwineman classic, 1st posted on April 3, 2008:

Superb pinot from the great Northwest. While WA gears up to make great pinot someday (think Lake Chelan future AVA), I will, huuhh, ‘settle’ for this from our southern neighbor. I’ve always been impressed with this winery’s Premier Cuvee, however expensive ($37-45 at QFC). Hey, for an uneducated wine-o who is flush with wine moolah, only the best will do…SeaSmoke, Archery Summit, and Domaine Drouhin. Domaine Serene is my backup. And it really should be from the Willamette Valley…preferably the Dundee Hills AVA. Ogod, I sound so much like a wine snob…I make myself sick. Blahhhh!
So, back to the stage, with family over from out of state, I had to impress and, looking for something beefy but subtle to pair with a great ‘splay of Asian cuisine…honey walnut shrimp (homemade), kalbi (HanKang), and thin-sliced teriyaki headlining the chow-table, I chose the pinot over Januik’s Klipsun merlot. This was partly due to my curiosity in trying the Arcus Estate in the first place…after all, it’s list price is $100 and I got four bottles in my allotment. And, stupid me, being the host of the party, I forgot to bust out the $18 Riedel Oregon pinot noir glasses so we drank out of r-r-regular Riedel red wine glasses. So what?! Food was great, coversation was like out of an ‘After Hours with Daniel’ show, the wine was beautiful, and ice cream encore’d the evening.
So, let’s talk about the wine. Gorgeous red-purple in color just exuded $$$$. Whiff: moderate bouquet. Mouthfeel: elegant, silky. Tail trail: 6 seconds. Black and red fruit abound. Very low on tannin taste even though it should ‘improve over the next 3 to 8 years.’ Why I almost should have worn elbow-length white gloves in handling this baby. Almost.
Alcohol: 14.2%. Winemaker: Anna Matzinger, since ’99. Blended with Pommard clones and Dijon clones 777, 667, and 115. Cold soaked 5-8 days. Native yeast fermentation. Punched down b.i.d. 79% new French oak. Aged 11 months. Value: $80. Allocation List members only available to. Sorry. Maybe if you wish, I’ll bring a bottle to WineChatR’s next ho-down (if invited 😦 ) This is WAwineman…uncorked, uneducated, but not uncouth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

