Desert Wind Winery 2005 merlot

Another early WAwineman classic, 1st posted on June 10, 2008:

You think the Northwest has problems? Try living in the rest of the nation. Grandma thought enough to bring a gun in her purse while shopping at Sam’s Club in Columbia, SC, just so her 4-year old granddaughter could find it and shoot herself in the chest. Sam’s Club…yeah the ghetto of big box shopping. Social Security checks will be going the way of the phonograph…soon to be replaced by debit cards. Is any icon of the “old world” sacred anymore? I can’t even find tomatoes in my Big Extra meal. Researchers predict a “dead zone” of oxygen depleted waters in the Gulf off of TX and LA to grow this season to over 10000 square miles. Did I say TX and LA or was that between my boss’s office door and the rest of the company? And, in another sign of the times, KOMO’s “Northwest Afternoon” will sign off on August 28 after a 24 year run. Expect a gaggle of soap opera-withdrawn fans to wreak havok on the city. Fyi, I’m not one of them. But, I digress.
Tonight, I throw a R. A. Dickey knuckleball special. This winery is just a little too mysterious for me. The vineyard’s in WA, but the bottling’s in OR. And the winery’s in Prosser, which includes a seductive “inn”. Go figure. The odd-shaped label sold me so I brought it home to pair with my standard…oh no, wait, HanKang Restaurant appears to have new owners so the food tastes a little “different”. Anywho, I arffed my Korean short ribs order with this liquid sunshine and it was a decent pairing. The meat was not as savory as I expected and the wine was..well, right in line. This is a complement in disguise. An everyday meal is best paired with an everyday wine; and this fit the bill. Heck, I wouldn’t even be buying wines from the market if all I drank was uber-premium liquid gold like what’s in my cheapo cellar. Just tell me you would bring home decent take-out food and slice open a Quilceda Creek 2005 cab sau, an Andrew Will 2005 Ciel du Cheval Vineyard, DeLille Cellars Chaleur Estate, Betz 2005 ‘Le Perrain’, Leonetti Cellars 2005 merlot, or even an Archery Summit pinot noir. No, Ezekiel, I didn’t think so, either. And that’s why you trust me to bring you these uneducated and uncorked reviews, I hope. Keep on readin’!
Alcohol: 14.5%. Wahluke Slope AVA. Oenologist: Greg Fries. Merlot 99.7%, cab sau 0.3%. Harvested: 9/11-19, 2005. 100% American oak. 12 months in barrel. 0.3% residual sugar. Bottled in Dundee, OR.
Nose: red plum, strawberry, and raspberries. Color: diluted magenta. Mouthfeel: loose and playful. Tail trail: 4 seconds. Flavors: black cherry, red plum, and smoke. Subtle explosion at 2 seconds. Dry tannins in residual.
Value: $14. This is WAwineman…uncorked, uneducated but not uncouth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

