Januik Winery 2005 Klipsun Vineyard merlot

Another early WAwineman classic, 1st posted on May 2, 2008:

Thank Gawd It’s Friday! The workload is getting heavier but the weather is getting warmer. I feel like the Statue of Liberty…”give me all your tired (work problems), your poor (attitude of clients), your huddled masses (of paperwork) yearning to stress me out. The wretched refuse (of government red tape). Send these, the brainless, inpatient half-nards to me. I lift my fist to cast through gangly management.” Wow…I sound like I’m on hash. Not since high school…but I digress.
Anywho, this week ended with a crescendo of deadlines that I barely met, so now the night belongs to me and with it… this gem out of Woodinville. A note to all WA wine collectors: 2005 was a bitchin’ good year. Pay the extra to get the single-vineyard stuff from long-established winemakers. You’ll thank me for this simple advice.
Tonight’s grub was…actually I ate the soy sauce marinated salmon while finishing the sau blanc. I saved this for dessert. No pie. No jello. No i scream. Just wine, baby. So, with the higher expectation that this wine needed to be complete with flavors, I must say, Januik delivered full-throttle. Wow! So many twists and turns of new flavors bursting in my mouth…it’s soooo…Januik. It’s evolution in one taste. Probably the finest merlot I’ve had yet under $50, which happens to be every labeled merlot so far. Even Marilyn with its fancy labeling can’t top this.
Alcohol: 14.2%. Elegant labeling backs up the supremely balanced contents. pH 3.64. Total acidity: 0.53gm/100ml. 248 cases (all at the winery…so go get some!). Merlot 91%, cab sau 7%, petit verdot 2%. Red Mountain AVA. Wine Spec’s one of the 25 greatest vineyards in the world. New French oak for 18 months; racked every 3-4 months.
Nose: heavy on the raspberries. Color: deep royal purple. Mouthfeel: silky. Tail trail: 6 seconds. Flavors: start with blackberries and spice, then vanilla and a hint of root beer, then to dark chocolate and heaven. Age potential of 8-12 years.
Rated: 100. Value: $60. Paid: $40. The “boss”. This is WAwineman…uncorked, uneducated, but not uncouth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

