Januik Winery 2006 Elerding Vineyard chardonnay

Another early WAwineman classic, 1st posted on May 28, 2008:

Sure enough, that darn mayor reads my blog and next thing ya know, he sends his thugs to clean out my home from a wooded area in Queen Anne. Some kind of reader reaction I’m not used to. At least he didn’t send me to the local university’s dentistry lab or else I wouldn’t be here to bring you this yummy-for-my-tummy chard from the venerable Michael ‘don’t call me Janny’ Januik. I would even go so far as to say, ‘drink it to protect your gut from that nusty super bacteria.’ Hey, ever heard of peeps dying of C. diff while infusing on Januik’s wines? I didn’t think so!!
So, this was wine number 2 from my sunny Sunday episode of ‘boy meets grill’. Let’s rewind back to when I was deciding on this or the Novelty Hill Stillwater Creek version at $22. I’m sure you have reached a similar conundrum, and what did you do? I chose to ask the bar master at the tasting bar for advice. I already had some choices lined up to buy and she said, after offering me a taste of each, that the Elerding was in contrast to the other more oaky chards they had, so why buy two of the same when I could take home this floral version in addition to the oaky one? Good choice.
Paired this with that perfect Sunday grilling weather while the coals were heating up some juicy portobellos along with length-sliced zucchini and sweet onions. Yes, I am known for pairing wines with events. Why limit myself to just food? Think outside the box. Speaking of outside the box, did you see the new FC Sounders jerseys?
Alcohol: 13.5%. pH 3.67. Total acidity: 0.55g/100mL. Pure varietal. 378 cases. Bottled 8-28-07. 20-year old vines producing loose clusters and tiny berries in a cool area. 67% new French oak. Secondary fermentation and aged on the lees for 10 months.
Nose: a distinct pear/melon/grapefruit aroma. Mouthfeel: balanced thickness. Color: fool’s gold. Tail trail: 5 seconds, evenly spread. Flavors: green melon, moving to cinnamon-sprinkled pear, then concluding with the addition of a zing of grapefruit, with delicate white floral scents throughout. Good introductory wine to the naivete (nothing overpowering).
Value: $27. This is WAwineman…uncorked, uneducated but not uncouth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

