Mount Baker Vineyards and Winery 2005 viognier

Another early WAwineman classic, 1st posted on April 25, 2008:

Bronze Medal at the Central WA State Fair! Woo-hoo! Now, that’s honest advertising. Double-gold, gold…I say, phooey on you! It’s rigged. High maintenance! Let’s support the second tier who probably didn’t stand over the judge’s shoulders, threatening to pull back their sponsor money. I’m kidding…my hallucinations. Whatever.
So, I drove past near this place on my ritualistic summer escape from Urbia, on the way to Marblemount and that killer hamburger hut. Also enjoyed some great ice cream at a nearby blueberry farm. Do the Hwy. 20 food run…you won’t regret it. I mean, who da thunk grapes can be grown up past Mt. Vernon…excuse me, Mount Vernon? Yeah, well I’ve seen vineyards up near the 49th parallel so I say it’s possible. But, I digress.
Tonight’s humdinger meal was…leftovers. Yeah. This is the life of someone who bought 3 bottles of QC 2005 cab recently. I think DSHS should allow food coupons to be used on cult wines. Oh, I’m kidding…I know it’s not p.c. but who cares…this is MY blog, baby! And if you shook your head with a crack, snarky smile, then you be my friend. Ya know…why am I even snouting about Skagit County vineyards??? The grapes for this bottle came from Yakima Valley…hello? So, the rest of the meal included fresh greens, yakisoba, teriyaki steak, Hawaiian-made kim chee, and, for dessert…boiled peanuts (at least in the shell). It was ok with the lighter delights. I’ll say it did just fine with the peanuts. Definitely, another toe-dippin’ starter wine.
Alcohol: 13.5%. Viognier 93%, roussanne 4%, madeline angevine 3%. Potential hydrogen: 3.7. Free sulfur dioxide: 32.8 ppm. 0.0 on sugars. The NIT champion of the central WA state fair.
Nose: very light. Color: light, light yellow. Mouthfeel: airy. Tail trail: 2 seconds. Flavors: creamy lemon, hint of peaches, and even a little papaya. Play some B-52s “Funplex” cd with this and you’ll love it.
Value: $11. This is WAwineman…uncorked, uneducated, but not uncouth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

