Southard Winery 2009 Columbia Valley riesling

I woke up this morning around the crack of 3:30am when it hit me… yesterday, Seattle was the most dangerous locale in the entire world. Worse than Lebanon. Worse than Tripoli. Worse than anywhere in Syria. Six dead as a result of the demons in Ian Stawicki’s head. That, or he read HerpDerp’s wine report. Sadly, his girlfriend reported that the killer woke up in a good mood to start a day that would involve helping move his gal’s mother to another home in Tacoma. He just had to get his java fix nearby first. My guess is, on the way, he stumbled upon MountainQueer’s post on his dumbphone on reasons why MountainQueer (not “mountaineer” like Sean brags about… anyone who boasts of being a mountaineer is NOT a mountaineer but more of a fruity day-hiker) chose not to support the alcohol initiatives (I-1100 and I-1183). After that, Seattleites were held captive to this psycho’s version of “Falling Down.”

Sadly, but finally the façade that Seattle is one of the “most livable” cities in the USA has been destroyed with this recent grand mal spate of shootings that originated in the armpit of the Emerald City and spread north. We thought the worst was over after the random shooting of a motorist through a high-crime area (Central District, aka “the C.D.”). However, what was really revealed from these killing fields was our own naivete that we Wetheads actually believed the smoke-and-mirrors act we espoused to everyone else not living here. It was reported that after the Café Racer mass execution, a school miles away went into lockdown. Some students there reported witnessing a man with a gun. That man just happened to be jogging in the affluent neighborhood. And, packing a sidekick for protection. Um yeah, that’s on my checklist when I go jogging. iPod, check; Reebok RealFlex shoes, check; Walther P99 semi-automatic pistol, check.

Then there’s the douche nozzle who claims that Seattle is the safest city he’s lived in. What? Hello, San Diego. Hello, Riverside. Hello, Honolulu. Hello, Anaheim. If anyone says that around here, they need to get out more. Seattle was recently ranked tenth out of 74 cities in terms of lowest homicides per capita. To clarify, Seattle was still tenth out of 45 of those same cities but west of the Mississippi. Not so “safest” anymore, sans the spin.

Another Gump blames the “Amazon effect” where one hugely successful company spurs a complete makeover in one part of the city and the issues of building a new sports arena divert attention away from the rotting underbelly of unemployment and growing divide between haves and have-nots. This bullshit had nothing to do with the violence at the Racer. The psycho was programmed to kill whether Amazon moved to S.L.U. or rotted on Beacon Hill.

The net effect of all this is Seattle’s long list of mass murderers just added another name to the roll. Any attempt to decode the paradigm of this assassin is like… trying to describe a wine.

Speaking of wine, let’s get back on track.

I’ve had my say on the Southard boys on an earlier post. This is the second vintage of their bone dry riesling and is a blend of two vineyards, the estate in Selah and Lawrence Vineyard in Royal City. Let me repeat, this is BONE DRY riesling, not the cheap sissy stuff that tastes like liquid candy at the all-you-can-drink buffet they serve for lobster-skinned tourists.

Tasted at 49-52 degrees on the IR temp gun. Color: light straw. Aromas: honeysuckle, peach, citrus rind. Mouthfeel: smooth but dense. Tail trail: 6 seconds. Flavors: green apple, lime, hint of nectarine. This is a riesling to come home to after a physically demanding day. Serve chilled. Fine with beef curry.

Alcohol: 13.5%. 108 cases. Power: 2/5. Balance: 2/5. Depth: 2/5. Finesse: 2/5. Rated: 88. Value: $12. Paid: $18. Music pairing: “Live Your Life” by Yuna. This is WAwineman… put the gun down and read my posts instead.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Southard Winery 2009 Columbia Valley riesling

  1. csabernethy says:

    I like Riesling. There, I said it. Although I typically go for off-dry from the big producers, I have found a few bone-dry bottles I really like. They go great with some foods that fight with other wines. I’m not sure if I will be able to find Southard over here in Red Mountain wine country, but I will look for it when I go to our new Mid-Columbia Wine & Spirits store in Richland that opens today. I got a preview last week and they are going to have an awesome Washington wine representation! From what I saw, wine prices are similar to Yokes (at or slightly below tasting room prices), but the vast inventory offers lots of options. I’ll likely pick up a wine from an appointment-only winery I haven’t visited yet. Have you tried Corvus yet? Just around the corner from Coop’s.

  2. wawineman says:

    I think riesling is Washington’s version of California chardonnay.
    It’s a very pliable grape, making wines from Brush Prairie dry to late-harvest sticky sweet. I tend to lean toward rieslings of less than 2% residual sugar as they show the most complexity.
    So! Yoke’s finally has competition. This will be fun to watch. Think I will check it out, along with your Albertson’s recommendation.
    I missed Corvus on my last visit. I saw the signs but they just were not in a plum location (read: Sunset Road). I’ll make a stronger effort next time. After all, I had no problem finding Oakwood Cellars so Corvus should be a no more than a 5-wood from Coop’s.
    Speaking of Coop, I read that the KID will be pumping in water to fuel the Red Mountain area. You got some smart people running a part of the Tri-Cities there. Of course, I’m comparing them to the floating crap we have here. This whole violence thing has its taproot from the election of the mayor, so blame Seattleites for voting him in. He came from nowhere and now he is showing Seattle his origins. Under his rule, the city’s police is picking a fight with the federal Justice Department. Bad move. With the police under that kind scrutiny, they have lost both effectiveness and respect and that has allowed the street crazies to shoot-up the place. There will be more coming. That’s a guarantee. And that’s why Seattle is such a sad place to be right now.

  3. csabernethy says:

    Yep. The KID deal has been in the works for years. I believe the deal amounts to enough water to irrigate 1700 new acres, almost doubling the irrigated acreage on Red Mountain.

    I’ve seen the Corvus sign along the road but have never seen their wines on a shelf anywhere and never bothered to make an appointment to taste. The wine steward at the new store suggested I try it – and I will. I don’t know what they make, but probably mostly reds. I’ll look at their website and then see what they have in the store. I’ll test it out on my golf/wine buddies today.

  4. Winemaker of Mass Desctruction says:

    The itchy-triggers and the Madrona incident is why I did not go to Wildridge open house last night.
    I plan on making a halbtrocken to trocken riesling this fall, btw.

    WMD

  5. wawineman says:

    I have seen Corvus wines at the markets here. Don’t know much about them and the label doesn’t stand out so I didn’t take a chance. I’m sure Corvus makes good wines but when on Red Mountain, good is not good enough. Perhaps, they should take a page out of Coop’s Masterful Marketing techniques to increase vibe. Let me know what the foursome thinks!
    I’m glad the Southard boys liked my post. Welcome to the winemaker’s reader’s club, bros!

    • csabernethy says:

      I chose the Corvus ’08 Syrah – Petite Sirah blend. Sold out on their website but available at the new wine store. 71% Syrah, 29% Petite Sirah. It was a big hit with my golfing winos. I will definitely try their other releases.

  6. wawineman says:

    WMD-
    I don’t blame ya. There’s a sullen mood in Seattle right now, and it’s not the muggy, low-60s weather. This city is stunned and hurting. Not since 9/11 has it been this gloomy.
    I have a Wilridge nebb aging in the gallows. Oops, can’t use that “Gallo” moniker anymore now that they’re here…

  7. wawineman says:

    Never heard of a Red Mountain AVA syrah-petite sirah blend but it sounds good. Which vineyards?

    • csabernethy says:

      Look on the Corvus website. It sounds like the grapes are Red Mountain although the winery is listed as being in Walla Walla. I seem to remember Hightower and Corvus vineyards as the source, but that may have been for one of their other wines.

  8. wawineman says:

    Corvus’s website needs updating…badly. I’d rate that a D.

    • csabernethy says:

      Yes, I agree about the website. I didn’t spend much time there. every time I see a website like that, I think they are either going out of business, don’t care much about their media impression, or don’t depend on the media for their sales.

      Three of their wines were in the Mid-Columbia Wine & Spirits store: the Cab, the Syrah-Petite Sirah (listed as SOLD OUT), and another ’09 vintage blend that was not even mentioned on their website (at a lower price point, by the way).

  9. wawineman says:

    I saw a pic of the 2009 Cuvee blend on their Facebook site, but still not much better at providing updated information on their wines. Well, they must be doing well enough that they can afford to neglect their website. I still say Darby Winery is the all-time worst winery website. If any winery that willfully minimizes the information on their website (and thus “forcing” the customer to go to the tasting room) by continually saying “new site coming soon” when it really means “I’m just changing the front page graphics and still not providing you any information about the wines” then… hey, best wishes.

  10. Neil Cooper says:

    Did I see right…. Should we be clearing the dishes for dinner? Are we expecting guest? Yahoooo the’man is coming to the hill

  11. wawineman says:

    HAAAAAAAAAhhhh! What??? Is this the real ‘Godfather’ of Red Mountain fame? Must be cuz the man read through my words. You bet ur ass I will be in the area this summer. Hide the 30-something virgins. Batten down the hatches, bloke! Mister Walla Walla Wine Advocate will be passing through like a Category 5er. You may be the best grass grower on the Mountain but no one smokes it like the King Bitch of the wine blog world. Coq au vin for the masses and rat sperm for the wine blogger asses! A votre sante, brah!

Leave a Reply

