Market Vineyards 2009 Derivative red wine

Tasted at 59-69 degrees on the IR temp gun. Color: garnet-rimmed magenta. Nose: straight plum, raspberry. Mouthfeel: medium-bodied. Tail trail: 8 seconds. Flavors: black cherry, bacon bits, red plum. Food pairing was chop steak–good.

Alcohol: 14.8%. 60% syrah, 40% merlot. Columbia Valley AVA. Vineyards: 40% Connor Lee (merlot), 40% West Hills (syrah), 20% Gamache (syrah). 240 cases. Owners: Steve Anderson, Matt Riesenweber, Bob Bertsch, and Daniel Schulte. Power: 3/5. Balance: 2/5. Depth: 2/5. Finesse: 3/5. Rated: 90. Value: $20. Paid: $18. This is WAwineman… uncorked, uneducated but not uncouth.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Market Vineyards 2009 Derivative red wine

  1. csabernethy says:

    Hmmmm. I’m a wine club member and a “regular” at Market Vineyards and I haven’t seen or tasted this wine! Is this something they make for the restaurant or retail market? The only $20 wine on their list is the “Liquidity”. Maybe they sell this out of the tasting room but don’t offer tastes of it? Enlighten me….

  2. wawineman says:

    Ab,

    Another staff oversight… thanks for the heads-up. You had this wine, no? It goes by the fanciful name ‘Derivative.’ This appears to be a rather odd combination but it works very well. Good winemaking in the house and a nice ‘live house’ it is, so it is no surprise that you are in good standing there.

    The 2009 reds are just being released by this winery so it makes sense that the ‘red blend’ shows first and is probably a very recent release. Their ‘Acquisition’ must be a killer cabernet. Queensgate Village is becoming an anchor for the Richland wine scene, with Market Vineyards and Hamilton Cellars as the stars. About time!

    • csabernethy says:

      Yes, I’ve had the Derivative, and yes, Acquisition is my favorite Market Vineyards wine! For the blends, I like the Basis Points the most. Erin, the TR manager, is one of my brown-bagger friends and Matt is my financial advisor. I don’t get out there near as much as I should because they are all the way across town – all of about 10 miles. Have you stopped by Hamilton Cellars yet?

  3. wawineman says:

    I have not. You recommend them, I taketh?

    • csabernethy says:

      I would be interested in your impressions. Same wine maker, totally different wines and atmosphere. My main problem is that they have “released” some of their wines to their members at least three times – I prefer to make my own decisions on what I want to acquire after the initial release.

  4. wawineman says:

    Curious as to why a winery would allocate the same wines to club members three times. Doesn’t sound like a favorable business plan. We have similar situations here in Woodinville where, for instance, there’s Tenor Wines and Gard Vintners. Hamilton Cellars… okay, you’re on. I will send my courier to go get some. Thanks for the suggestion!

  5. csabernethy says:

    If you haven’t already, you should talk to Coop about his opinions on HC as background introduction to the winery…

  6. wawineman says:

    Excellent point there. Advice taken. You really got me curious about HC. Is it available in the supermarkets in the Tri-Cities? I may have to pull some strings around here…

  7. csabernethy says:

    I have confirmed that HC is available in the W. Richland and Kennewick Yoke’s stores. Not everything, but some of them.

  8. wawineman says:

    Thank you for checking! That is awesome news!

Leave a Reply

