Nelms Road 2009 merlot

Tasted at 57-64 degrees on the IR temp gun. Color: dark magenta with a ruby’d edge. Nose: faint black cherry, schnoz heat. Mouthfeel: thick. Tail trail: 6 hot seconds. Flavors: sticky black cherry, expected alcohol sting, band aid, clove. Brought back memories of my ‘Thunderbird’ years. Thanks for nothing.

Food pairing was mushroom gravy chicken. The chicken was upset at this pairing.

Alcohol: 16.2% (new blog record). Sticky gross bottle. Washington State. Power: 2/5. Balance: 0/5. Depth: 1/5. Finesse: 0/5. Rated: 83. Value: $4. Paid: $25. This is WAwineman… uncorked, uneducated but not uncouth.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nelms Road 2009 merlot

  1. csabernethy says:

    Unfortunately, this was one of the few Washington wine selections on my recent Alaskan Cruise. And I had to upgrade to the “Premium” drink package to get it! I tried to lure our cute (but not very knowledgeable) Ukrainian sommelier to share a bottle of Cooper Carmenere with me but she was too intimidated…

  2. wawineman says:

    That is a saaaaaaaaddd story. I would have gone to the front office and demanded a refund. Similarly, I had a California pinot noir glass pour recently and it was so disgusting, I had the smellier take it back and replaced it with a chardonnay. You’ll be reading about that soon…

    Wait a minute… you smuggled a bottle of Coop’s bolo carmenere on a cruise??? And, wtf, you had a Ukrainian smellier biotch bulldogging the wines? All the more reason cruise lines will be begging me to present the wines on their Alaskan cruises.

  3. csabernethy says:

    I’ll send you a photo on Twitter. She was cute – but otherwise pretty useless as a somm.

  4. wawineman says:

    Yes! As long as I wasn’t in the pic. You’ll understand soon enough…

  5. csabernethy says:

    You have piqued my interest…

  6. wawineman says:

    Soon enough, sir. I was assigned to trail you and I think I messed up a little.
    I have a picture of her (and she tasted fine!).

  7. csabernethy says:

    And now I see a six-pack of new ta-ta’s in the header – nice!!!

  8. wawineman says:

    For you, bro. Cause you deserve the very best hooters! I’m dyin’!!!

Leave a Reply

